The 47 member states, including 28 that are members of the European Community, are signatories to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and due process. The Commissioner for Human Rights published the report “Human Rights and Intersex People” in 2015. This report was followed in 2017 by Resolution 2191(2017) of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe advising member states to respect the rights of intersex people.